Archive

Archive for January 7, 2011

in the beginning

January 7, 2011 1 comment

I’m sitting in a café listening to Kylie Minogue on the radio in the airport in Riga, Latvia. I have absolutely no idea about this country apart from its geographical location on a map. What I do know is that by the looks of things they speak English, Russian and I’m assuming Latvian…

But this blog isn’t supposed to be about Latvia or generally mundane travel stories, but more a brief insight into my life overseas and the complexities of the lifestyle I now lead. Yes, it has taken far too long for me to sit down and finally write something but better late than never. So, this is my blog where I’ll post pictures, videos, tell you about weird things in my life and keep you up to date on my general welfare.

 NYE 2011 – 12:01am

The Context

In around January 2009 I decided I’d embark on an adventure to Russia to study the Russian Language during the second half of 2010. Having completed a pretty stressful final year of university, I was in need of a dramatic change and was looking for a new challenge. I agreed with those who said moving to Russia at the beginning of a harsh winter to learn an impossible language was moronic, but I decided to give it a shot anyway.

I set up a life in Russia in late August and found somewhere to live with a lovely mother, daughter combination of Marina and Elena. They lived in a nice apartment on an island near the centre of Saint Petersburg. I found a job at an English school as a teacher to help pay the bills, managed to sort out my studies for the following semester, and met some inspiringly interesting Russians and fellow international students. I decided in late November that it was time to move on from Elena and Marina so I moved in with a few friends from uni into the very centre of town.

I’m now on holidays until the January 27 but normally I live there, work at nights teaching classes and private students, and spend a lot of time with my Russian and international friends. I attempt to squeeze in Russian homework here and there as well when the occasion calls for it.

Now I find myself here, in another airport lounge having slept on a surprisingly comfortable set of airport chairs in Helsinki the night before. I’m awaiting my connecting flight to Munich where I’ll meet up with some Russian friends and then drive to Austria to ski for the next week. I’ll then hitchhike north through Germany visiting friends I made on my travels through Europe last August. I’ll then return to life in Saint Petersburg early February to continue with my Russian studies.

So stay tuned, I’ll post updates on my Facebook and Twitter so feel free to add your comments or questions. It’s always nice to hear from people wherever you may be or whatever you may be up to.

Categories: Uncategorized